Kevin Got Baptized! (Week 101)

From: Nathan DeBeikes <nathan.debeikes@myldsmail.net>
Date: Mon, Jun 29, 2015 at 2:04 AM
Subject: Kevin Got Baptized!

Hello once again! Just a couple more of these…craziness!

This was such a fantastic week. We have consistently been finding new
people to teach, people are starting to progress, and Kevin got
baptized! I will go through some of the highlights

So I was able to go to Nottingham one last time on exchange, and Elder
Bo’s is actually serving there now, so I got to spend the day with
him. I got to see Ariel! I can’t even express the love I have for
Ariel. She is one special person. It was so good to be able to see her
and be able to catch up and see how she is doing. If all that came of
my mission was being able to meet her, then it would have been good
enough for me. Talking with her just brought back so many memories of
being with Elder Alldredge and having awesome lessons with her. I am
so incredibly grateful for my time serving in Nottingham, that city
will hold a special place in my heart for the rest of my life. It was
great to be with Elder Bos again as well, he is an awesome guy, and
such a solid missionary.

On Friday we went to a Chinese restaurant with Kevin, his two friends
Sarah and Lucy, and the other Lincoln elders. It was so much fun, I
love Chinese food, and it was great to be able to relax a bit and
enjoy awesome company. I don’t think there has been anyone that I have
taught that has made me laugh as much as Kevin. He is honestly so
funny, truly one of a kind. It has been such a privilege to be able to
teach him. I wish all of you could meet him. He is going to visit me
in America one day, so hopefully some of you will be able to!

On Saturday, I was able to see Yixing, who is one of the recent
converts from Loughborough. He was visiting Lincoln, and wanted to see
me, so we were able to talk to him for a bit. He is awesome, and it
was so good to be able to see him. Loughborough is another one of
those special special cities.

Yesterday was Kevin’s baptism! It was an amazing service. The only
thing that we could find that would fit him was a 5XL jumpsuit, but he
pulled it off nicely. He said he felt like he looked like a hip hop
singer, then started to pretend to be a rapper rapping about being
baptized. We are always laughing with Kevin. There was an amazing
spirit the whole time, and he asked if I would be the one to baptize
him, so I had the great privilege of being able to do that for him. I
was a bit nervous because he is such a big guy, but it all turned out
well, and he was so happy the whole time. I truly love that guy so
much. Five of our other investigators were able to come to either his
baptism or to church, so it turned out to be an amazing Sunday, to end
off a great week.

I wish you could all experience everything I do in just one week, and
I wish I could write it all down, but it’s just impossible. There is
nothing like a mission. I am so grateful for my mission. I cannot
believe I am starting my last full week of my entire mission. I just
can’t believe it. I have been through SO much. I have been through
crazy ups and downs, all of which I am so thankful for. I don’t know
what the rest of my life would be like without my mission, but I do
know that it has blessed and enriched my life forever. I am going to
finish as strong as I can this final week. Thank you all for your
constant love and support. Have a great week!

Love, Elder DeBeikes

Chinese restaurant with Kevin, his two friends
Sarah and Lucy, and the other Lincoln elders.

IMG_0647[1]

IMG_0648[1]

Ariel!

IMG_0637[1]

IMG_0626[1]

KEVIN!

IMG_0655[1]

IMG_0658[1]

IMG_0656[1]

Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

