“I Don’t Have Friends, Only Family” (Week 97)

From: Nathan DeBeikes <nathan.debeikes@myldsmail.net>
Date: Mon, Jun 1, 2015 at 2:02 AM
Subject: ” I Don’t Have Friends, Only Family”

Greetings from Lincoln! So I’m still here, but Elder Haynie has
officially left. My new, and final, companion, is Elder Jones from
Mesa, Arizona! He’s been out for about a year now, and is awesome. He
is hilarious, and has such a sincere desire to be a good missionary
and to work hard, which is exactly what I was hoping for. We’ve been
having a great time together so far, and I’m really looking forward to
this next transfer.

Something that was really cool this week was that I got to go to
Nottingham again. Elder Haynie got transferred to one of the
Nottingham teams, so I spent the day there on Wednesday with the zone
leaders while I waited for Elder Jones to arrive from Birmingham. I
got to see Lemon and Hellen again which was so great. It honestly just
amazes me how much Lemon has come out of her shell since we started
teaching her. You should have seen her in our first lesson, she was
the most shy person and could barely understand what we were saying.
Now she understands everything and is just so funny. I can’t even
begin to explain how much these relationships mean to me.

Another highlight was being able to play basketball with Kevin. It was
so fun, and he’s actually really good. I didn’t expect a guy as big as
him to be able to shoot as well as he does, but he was making three
pointers like it was nothing. Much to my chagrin, he even beat me in
HORSE, but it was a close game. It was great to be able to do that
with him and just continue to strengthen our relationship. One thing
that was awesome when Elder Haynie was saying goodbye to him was when
he quoted fast and furious seven (one of his favourite movies) and
said, “I don’t have friends, only family” and then hugged both of us.
I love that guy so much.

I had to give a talk in sacrament meeting yesterday, and my topic was
“awareness and blessings of personal accountability.” It was an
interesting topic, but I felt like the talk went well and I was able
to learn a lot. A lot of what I based my talk off of was Elder D. Todd
Christofferson’s General Conference talk in October of 2014. He talks
all about agency and accountability. It’s a really good one for those
of you who haven’t heard it. I learned a lot on how we need to be
AGENTS, and not OBJECTS. When we are an agent, we control objects and
have freedom to choose. When we are an object, we let things act upon
us and control us. Many people don’t realise that they are objects,
but when we can recognise that and choose to be agents, that is when
we will experience true freedom and lasting joy.

Other than that, we have continued to find new people to teach, which
we are excited about. I love Lincoln so much, and I’m so glad to be
with Elder Jones for my last transfer. I just want to finish as strong
as I can. Man I’m just so grateful for my mission. Thank you all for
your love and support. Have a great week!

Love, Elder DeBeikes

So Lincoln holds one of the four orginal copies of the Magna Carta, which is 800 years old. We went to the castle last p-day and were able to see it! We also saw live jousting and got to tour all around the castle grounds. It was so cool!

Elder Nathan DeBeikes - England Lincoln Magna Carta 6-1-15

Elder Nathan DeBeikes - England Lincoln Castle tournament 6-1-15

Elder Nathan DeBeikes - England Lincoln Jousting tournament 6-1-15

Elder Nathan DeBeikes - England Lincoln Castle with District 6-1-15 Elder Nathan DeBeikes - England Lincoln Castle tournament 2 6-1-15

Elder Nathan DeBeikes - England Lincoln tournament 3  6-1-15 Elder Nathan DeBeikes - England Lincoln tournament jousting 6-1-15

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

