General Conference Weekend-Disciple of Christ (Week 89)

From: Nathan DeBeikes <nathan.debeikes@myldsmail.net>
Date: Mon, Apr 6, 2015 at 3:45 AM
Subject: General Conference Weekend-Disciple of Christ

Hey everyone! Another great week in the mission. Obviously the highlight would probably have to be general conference, which was amazing. We have still been able to see Shaun and Caitlin everyday including for family home evening, and have been having a great time with them. Reading the Book of Mormon with them has been awesome, and so cool to see how it has helped them change and progress in the gospel. Man I love the Book of Mormon.

Other than that, we have still just been finding new people to teach and teaching a few other people. For this upcoming week, we have a mini missionary with us. He’s an eighteen year old member named Matthew who is preparing to serve a mission, and he wants to have some practical experience. It should be good, he’s with us for the whole week 24/7 as if he is an actual missionary, so I’ll let you know how that goes.

So last week, Shahid, who is a guy from Pakistan that Elder Alldredge and I taught in Nottingham, got baptized! I would have gone, but Swansea is too far from Nottingham. I taught Shahid all the lessons and it was so cool to see him progress so fast and have a desire to follow Christ and be baptized, it’s just too bad I left Notts a couple weeks before he got baptized. He’s awesome though!

General conference was absolutely amazing. It is weird that the next general conference, i’ll be home! I’m trying not to think about it too much. But it seemed like the theme of the conference was all about families, which i thought was cool. It honestly made me really excited to have a family of my own someday in the not too distant future. Conference on the mission is so great, and it gives me a good chance to reflect on things I need to do better, and how I can change to become a better disciple of Christ. I especially loved Elder Ballard’s talk directed to missionaries and returned missionaries. It’s stuff that I have been thinking a lot about lately, and there was some really great advice on how I can continue strengthening my testimony when I return home. I also loved Elder Holland’s on the Atonement, and President Uchtdorf’s on grace. All of them were fantastic though. Man I love being a member of this church, and I am SO grateful for the gospel in my life that brings me lasting peace and eternal joy. Thank you all for your constant love and support, and have a great week!

Love, Elder DeBeikes

Family home evening with Shaun, Caitlin, another recent convert, and the sisters!

Elder DeBeikes - England Swansea FHE with Shaun & Caitlin 4-6-15

 

One of the steepest hills in Swansea. The beach is on the horizon but its a bit difficult to see because of the fog.

Elder DeBeikes - England Swansea steepest hill 4-6-15

So this is Elder Alldredge with Shahid!

Elder DeBeikes - England Elder Alldredge with Shahid! 3-30-15

Ariel, Lemon, and Leon all got their temple recommends to go to the temple! man i love them and miss them like crazy.

Elder DeBeikes - England Ariel, Lemon, and Leon all got their temple recommends to go to the temple 3-23-15

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

