Chinese Buffet With 8 Missionaries & 11 Chinese Investigators (Week 85)

From: Nathan DeBeikes <nathan.debeikes@myldsmail.net>
Date: Mon, Mar 9, 2015 at 2:51 AM
Subject: Chinese Buffet With 8 Missionaries & 11 Chinese Investigators

Well it has been another great week in Nottingham, and possibly my last full one. Transfers are on Wednesday, and I really think I will be leaving. I have been here for seven months, which is such a long time. I have loved my time in Nottingham, and I am really excited for this next chapter of my mission. If I do end up leaving, it will probably be my last area, which is strange to think about.

So some highlights of this week. On Tuesday we had our mission leadership council, where we talked a lot about studying and how important it is. It made me think about how much I have learned over the course of my mission and how thankful I am for the scriptures and all of the things that we are able to learn. It was also the last time I will see Elder Hess on my mission, since he finishes his mission on Wednesday. It was very strange, because when he trained me, we were both so young into the mission, and seeing him going home now was a pretty big shock.

We had zone meeting on Thursday which went well, I love the zone.

I had a really awesome experience on Saturday. So we met up with six other missionaries serving in the Nottingham area in city centre, as well as eleven people from China who we have taught, some recently baptized, and others currently taking the lessons. We all went to a Chinese buffet together, and had such a great time. It was so cool to see how the gospel brought us all together in that moment, and enabled us all to have such an awesome time together. Where else would I be able to have an experience like that besides on a mission? I was just looking around, and I had a moment where I was overwhelmed with the spirit of missionary work, and I was SO grateful to be on a mission in that moment. I am so glad I am here, there is nowhere else I would rather be at this time in my life.

Other than that, we’ve just been trying to find more people to teach. It’s been good, and it’s time for me to get the heck outta here. Life has been great though, and I have been so happy lately. I love the gospel. I love my life, I love everything that I have been blessed with. Holy smokes, I have been so blessed, and I am very grateful to my Father in Heaven for everything that He has given me. Thank you all for your love and support, have a great week!

Love, Elder DeBeikes

This is on the way to the buffet!

Elder DeBeikes - Nottingham - Chinese Buffet 6 missionaries, 11 Chinese

Us with Lemon at the Buffet

Elder DeBeikes - Nottingham - With Lemon at Chinese Buffet 3-9-15

Us at Old Market Square on a beautiful day

Elder DeBeikes - Nottingham Elder Alldredge 3-9-15

This is the Trent River in Nottingham realy close to our flat. When M. Russell Ballard was on his mission in Nottingham, he tells the story how he truly gained a testimony as he was walking along the trent river on his way home from a full day of proselyting where he was asked about his beliefs. As he thought about it more and more, he gained a witness from the spirit that he will never be able to deny. Pretty cool.

Elder DeBeikes - Nottingham Trent River 3-2-15

Nottingham Zone!

Elder DeBeikes - Nottingham Zone 3-2-15

This is the Spencers from the ward, one of my favourite families I have met on my mission. They’re actually American, so it’s pretty col, they would feed us all the time.

Elder DeBeikes - Nottingham - Spencer Family 3-2-15

My first day with Elder Hess July 2013

Elder DeBeikes - Elder Harris 1st Day July 2013

My last time seeing Elder Hess March 2015

Elder DeBeikes - Elder Harris Last Day 3-9-15

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

