ARIEL’S BAPTISM (Week 84)

From: Nathan DeBeikes <nathan.debeikes@myldsmail.net>
Date: Mon, Mar 2, 2015 at 3:11 AM
Subject: ARIEL’S BAPTISM

Well, this has been one amazing week. I am so unbelievably happy at this moment. As you can see from the subject, Ariel got baptized! I’ll start with some of the other things that happened this week, then talk about the baptism.

So on Tuesday I spent the day on exchange in Derby (pronounced “darby”), which is a really cool city west of Nottingham. I really love going to Derby, it’s one of my favourite places I’ve seen on my mission, I’d love to serve there. I was with Elder Omakaro, who has been out for about 15 months, and has only been a member for about six years. I love hearing stories of missionaries who are converts, and seeing their great faith of coming on a mission after recently joining the church. We had some good times and met some really cool people.

Elder Alldredge and I have been able to find a lot of new people this week who seem really interested, so it’s been exciting to finally start teaching new people again.

So our main focus this past week was just making sure Ariel was ready for everything and that she was comfortable leading up to Sunday on her baptism. When we met with her on Wednesday, she asked me if I would baptize her. On Sunday, we got to the church early to make sure everything was running smoothly with the font and everything, which it was. The service was at 9am before church, and it was great. There were a couple really good talks from members in the ward, and the spirit was very strong. As I went down into the water with Ariel, it was something I shall never forget. She was so nervous, but it was such a great experience. She couldn’t stop smiling after she went under the water, and she was just so happy. She is one of my favourite people I have met on my mission, and it was such a privilege to be able to baptize her and have that connection with her for the rest of our live. I will for sure be visiting Trinidad and Tobago throughout the rest of my life.

The Sisters in our ward also had an investigator named Gordon who got baptized, and he asked if I would do his confirmation. It was the first one I have ever done, but it was a really good experience, he is a really sweet guy.

So safe to say this was one of the best weeks of my mission. I am so grateful for experiences like that, that continue to strengthen my testimony and increase my gratitude for my mission. I am so happy, and so thankful for being on a mission. I can’t imagine what my life would be like if I didn’t go on a mission. I have had experiences and have met people that have absolutely changed my life for the better. It has been some of the hardest times, but also the best times of my life. I will be forever grateful for it, and for the gospel of Jesus Christ that brings eternal joy into my life. I am so grateful for my knowledge that God lives, and that He loves us. I am grateful for the Book of Mormon which brings me closer to Him each time I read it. I know that as we seek for strength and comfort from Him, He will not leave us comfortless, but rather we will feel the strength that the Holy Ghost can give us through the enabling power of the Atonement of Jesus Christ. I love my life.

Thank you all for your amazing love and support, and as always have a great week!

Love, Elder DeBeikes

Ariel!

Elder DeBeikes - Nottingham Ariel's Baptism 2-29-15

She wanted to do a Charlie’s Angels pose…

Elder DeBeikes - Nottingham Ariel's Baptism - Charlie's Angel Pose 2-29-15

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

