Holy Smokes! Lemon & Leon Baptized(Week 78)

From: Nathan DeBeikes <nathan.debeikes@myldsmail.net>
Date: Mon, Jan 19, 2015 at 3:36 AM
Subject: Holy Smokes! Lemon & Leon Baptized

Holy smokes, this was one of the best weeks of my whole mission. We have been seeing so many miracles, it has been amazing. Man, I am just so happy at the moment. So first things first, Lemon AND Leon ended up getting baptized yesterday! It was so great. I will just talk about a few highlights and then talk about the baptisms.

So on Tuesday I had a good exchange with an Elder who has been out for about six months. It was funny to finally be able to say to someone “I have as much time left as you have been on your mission” It is very strange to be one of the older missionaries in the mission. I love being able to meet so many different missionaries, it is so cool to see how we are all from really different backgrounds and all have our own stories, but we are all here for the same purpose, and it is cool to be able to help out and give advice to younger missionaries.

Wednesday we had interviews with President Rasmussen. When our companion is in interviews, Sister Rasmussen sits outside with us and we are able to just talk to her and get to know her better. They are honestly two of the most amazing people I have ever met in my entire life. My interview was pretty good, President Rasmussen just thanked me for all the work I have been doing and said I have been doing a really good job, so it was nice to hear. He is great.

On Thursday Leon told us that he feels like he is ready to be baptized and really wanted it to happen this weekend, so we set everything up for that and notified the bishop and everything was able to be arranged.

We have been able to find a lot of new people to teach this week, and it has just been really amazing to meet a bunch of new people and teach them more. I love teaching so much, it is one of the most fulfilling things ever.

So, yesterday we had the baptisms of Lemon and Leon. Lemon’s Chinese name is Liu Meng, and Leon’s is Yibo Yang. They are both so cool. So we do baptisms before church here at 9am. We got to the church at like 8:15 and the hot water wasn’t working in the font, so it was filled up about halfway before the hot water worked. It was just a little scare that added a bit of stress, but it was fine in the end. The baptismal service was so good, they were both so excited and both said how amazing they felt afterward. Lemon asked me to baptize her, and Leon asked this member named Brother Poole to baptize him because he has fellowshipped him really well. It was just so nice to have the feeling that all the hard work we have been doing was really able to pay off in such a spiritual experience. Church was great afterward, they were both confirmed which was also great, Elder Alldredge was able to confirm Lemon.

Overall, it was SUCH an amazing week. I have seen God touch the lives of these people, and their hearts have been turned to the Lord as they have learned and as they have been able to seek the truth. It has been so fulfilling to witness, and I am just so grateful for these amazing opportunities that I have as a missionary. I am so thankful that I am on a mission, I wouldn’t rather be anywhere else at the moment, it really is the best, and every single tough time is SO worth experiences like this week. I just love my life so much. Thank you all for your constant love and support, have a great week!

Love, Elder DeBeikes

So we went mini golfing as a district last p-day at this indoor mini golfing place that was all decorated like a rain forest and stuff, it was way fun, i love my district right now.

Elder DeBeikes - Nottingham mini golfing 1-19-15

 

Elder DeBeikes - Nottingham mini golfing2  1-19-15

This was the baptism! Lemon and Leon are so cool!

Elder DeBeikes - Nottingham Lemon & Leon Baptized 1-19-15

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

