Convincing a 70 year old he SAVED my life! (Week 64)

From: Nathan DeBeikes <nathan.debeikes@myldsmail.net>
Date: Mon, Oct 13, 2014 at 2:48 AM
Subject: Convincing a 70 year old he SAVED my life! (Week 64)

Well hello everyone. Another great week in the England Birmingham Mission. Things have still been going along at a rapid pace, and never seem to slow down. Sometimes it can be hard to take a moment and appreciate everything that is around me, because it seems like sometimes all we are doing is work work work and then the day is somehow over. I try to take a deep breath sometimes and just realize that I am actually doing this, but it can be difficult. I don’t know, I only expect time to go by even faster the longer I am out though, because that is the way it has been my whole mission thus far.

On Tuesday we went to the mission home again which was great. President and Sister Rasmussen talked a lot about connecting with people and helping them feel our love for them. I got to see a lot of mission friends again, which is always a good time.

On Wednesday I was able to go on exchange with Elder Hall again, which was awesome. While we were out talking to people, we had different little challenges for each other. Elder Hall told me to convince this guy on the street that he knew me. He was about 70 years old, and I went up to him and gave him a hug, telling him that I couldn’t believe it was him. he was so confused, and I tried to convince him that he saved my life a few weeks ago while some people were beating me up, and that he came up and punched them in the face. I don’t know why on earth I thought that would be a convincing argument, but the guy was so confused and was like, you definitely have me mistaken. it was funny though, and we ended up getting the guys address to visit him another time. Sometimes we do random stuff like that to keep things interesting, and everyone has a good time with it. or maybe I am just going insane after being a missionary for so long…not sure.

Thursday we had zone meeting, which was great because I always love seeing other missionaries. one of my favourite parts of my mission has just been able to help people in any way possible, and I have really been able to help a lot of other missionaries in different ways which has been a huge blessing.

Friday I had another exchange with a missionary named Elder Albrechtsen. he is a really really cool guy and a great missionary. I love going on exchanges because you get the chance to really get to know so many different types of missionaries.

Those are some highlights of the week. life has been good, and I love being a missionary, even though sometimes it can be the most difficult thing I have ever done. well, most of the time it is the hardest thing I have ever done. who am I kidding, it is always the hardest thing I have ever done, but it is so worth it. I am so grateful to be here at this time in my life. as always, thank you for your constant love and support, have a great week!

Love, Elder DeBeikes

So we went into this vintage shop in city centre, and they had different sweaters for American universities. look what I found!

 

Elder DeBeikes - Nottingham Vintage shoop BYU sweatshirt 10-13-14

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

