Transfer to Nottingham! (Week 56)

From: Nathan DeBeikes <nathan.debeikes@myldsmail.net>
Date: Mon, Aug 18, 2014 at 3:13 AM
Subject: Transfer to Nottingham!

HEEEELLLLLOOOO AGAIN. So it’s official, I have been transferred! My new area is, wait for it…Nottingham! Man am I loving it so far. my new companion is Elder Matheus, who is really really cool and an awesome missionary. He has been out for about 20 months, so it is really nice to have someone with loads of experience. We are right by another university, so we will still be able to teach a lot of students. Also, Elder Matheus learned Chinese in the MTC, so he just talks to all the Chinese people while I stand there wondering what the heck they are talking about! It is quite funny, and I am really enjoying life right now. Oh yeah, another bonus, we have a car! Holy smokes it makes everything so much nicer. I am not gonna lie, it’s pretty weird not being sweaty 24/7, but definitely no complaints. Leaving Loughborough was pretty tough, but I am so happy to be here in Nottingham. It is a really great area, and I am excited to get to work here.

Some interesting things that happened this week included some new missionaries’ luggage that flew in from provo was lost on the flight, so when it finally arrived three days later, we had to drive and pick it up. We drove to the mission home, which is about an hour away, then had to drop off the luggage at the different flats of the Elders. It must have been terrible to wear the same stuff for almost four days straight, so they were really glad to see us, and it was funny to see one of the missionaries with a beard because he had no razor. anyway, the round trip took about four hours, so it was some good time to get to know Elder Matheus better. He is a funny, super goofy guy.

Lately, I have just been absolutely loving my mission, every single part of it. As I have persevered through some extremely difficult times, I have seen God bless my life so much. I am so happy to be here, and I love sharing the gospel. I love all of the lessons that I have learned on my mission, all of the things that I have been through, and all of the people that I have met. I am so privileged to have the gospel in my life, and the joy that comes from bringing it in to others’ lives is indescribable. I love this work. I love the gospel. I love the Book of Mormon. Holy smokes, I love the Book of Mormon. Miracles are wrought, and lives are changed from reading and pondering the Book of Mormon. I love my saviour Jesus Christ, who is at the centre of it all. Thank you all so much for your constant love and support, and I hope you all have the best week ever!

Love, Elder DeBeikes

Nottingham Map

Elder DeBeikes - map-of-nottingham 8-18-14

Nottingham Castle and area

Elder DeBeikes - Nottingham 8-18-14

Elder DeBeikes - Nottingham_castle 8-18-14

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

