Loughborough England “From the Rooftop” (Week 55)

From: Nathan DeBeikes
Date: Mon, Aug 11, 2014 at 3:31 AM
Subject: Loughborough England “From the Rooftop”

GGGGOOOOOOOOOOOD AFTERNOOONNNNN!

So, another week in Loughborough, another great one. I have to say, my time in Loughborough has definitely been my favorite chapter of my mission so far. I love this place so much and especially the people I have been privileged to meet. Some highlights from this week:

We got fed every single night of the week. What a miracle! That was the first time that has happened to me, and most likely the last. We got to spend some time with absolutely amazing members. The Loughborough ward is full of some of the most faithful people i have ever met, and it has been so awesome to get to know them.

On Thursday, a member asked us if we could come over for service, and we ended up digging the roots out of and pulling these huge trees out of the ground from their back garden (backyard) which was probably the most enjoyable service i have done so far on my mission. We then had competitions to see who could ax through the trees the fastest once we got them out, it was a blast.

Another highlight was being able to spend time with one of our investigators, Neil. He is one of the funniest, coolest, most sincere people i have ever met, and it has been so awesome to be able to teach him and get to know him better. He always tells us how much going to church and praying and reading the Book of Mormon give him peace and make him feel pure, which is a real testimony builder to me to see how much this can change someone’s life. He also took us out to dinner at this chinese restaurant with one of his friends, where we had hot pot. Hot Pot, for those of you who don’t know, is this thing where they boil a huge pot of water with lots of spices and what not in it, and while it boils, you put in raw meat, fish, vegetables, noodles etc. and it cooks right there and you eat it and it is really really good. so being able to do that and spend time with Neil was probably my favorite part of the week.

Sorry if these are all kinda random, but i hope it gives you kind of an idea of how things are going. I am loving life. I might be leaving on Wednesday, but we won’t find out until later tonight, so we will see. I am excited, but also a little nervous because I honestly have no idea what will happen. My mission really has been so great lately, and I love being a missionary. The gospel makes me so happy, and i love being able to share that happiness and joy with others. There is honestly nothing better. Thank you all for your continuous love and support, and have a great week!

Love, Elder DeBeikes

I decided to climb the roof for no good reason…

Elder DeBeikes - Loughborough England From the Rooftop 8-11-14

Elder DeBeikes - Loughborough England On the Roof 8-11-14

HOT POT!

Elder DeBeikes - Loughborough England Hot Pot 8-11-14

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

