My 20th Birthday – my favorite ever, Neil, a Chinese student (Week 54)

From: Nathan DeBeikes <nathan.debeikes@myldsmail.net>
Date: Mon, Aug 4, 2014 at 3:51 AM
Subject: My 20th Birthday – my favorite ever, Neil, a Chinese student

Hello once again! The weeks lately have been going by way too fast. I feel like I always say that, but it’s really true. This past week was pretty average, honestly nothing too special has happened lately. I have still really been enjoying life, and i really love my mission. I guess my favorite part of the week was being able to teach one of my favorite people ever named Neil, who is a Chinese student. He is so hilarious, and he has really been touched by all of the things we are teaching him. He tells us how much praying, going to church, and reading the Book of Mormon has filled his heart with so much peace and gives him such confidence. it is so awesome, and the spirit is so strong every time we teach him. He told us that we are some of his best friends that he has made in England. He also had us over for dinner on Friday, and cooked us some really really good chinese food. man, chinese food is seriously the best, eating without chopsticks is just weird to me now.

Church yesterday was also another highlight for me, the Loughborough ward is the best, there are so many amazing people, and some of the sweetest testimonies were born yesterday. I love being in this ward and feeling the amazing spirit that comes from them.

I don’t have much else to update on, sorry if this is kind of short. I am just so happy to be a missionary, and i love this work. I love the gospel so much, it is without a doubt the way to true, eternal happiness that you cannot find anywhere else. Thank you all so much for all of your love and support, and as always, have a great week!

Love, Elder DeBeikes

neils food! so good!Elder DeBeikes - Neil's Chinese food for us 8-4-14

neil is in the middle. barry is on the left, he went with us as well. neil is a crack up

Elder DeBeikes - Neil and Barry my birthday dinner 8-4-14

neil again being neil

Elder DeBeikes - Neil 8-4-14

yixing had us over for dinner again, and was thinking about riding around with us with my helmet, but then decided he looked way too dumb

Elder DeBeikes - Yixing 8-4-14

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

