Mud Pit & The Allen Family of Llanelli (Week 38)

From: Nathan DeBeikes <nathan.debeikes@myldsmail.net>
Date: Mon, Apr 14, 2014 at 2:14 AM
Subject: Mud Pit & The Allen Family of Llanelli

Hello everyone once again! This past week has been quite excellent. We believe that it was most likely my last week in Llanelli, but we will find out for sure later on tonight. We usually don’t get the call until about 10 pm, then we have Tuesday to pack up and get ready to leave, then early Wednesday morning we transfer to ou​r​​ new area. we will see what happens though, I am pretty excited. On Tuesday, I went on an exchange with my district leader, Elder Seacy. It was really great, we got to teach some of his investigators, one of which was named Huw (pronounced Hugh), and the lesson was really good. He is a 73 year old man who has a lot of respect for what we do. It was nice to teach someone who appreciates us. Then on Wednesday, we helped with this community service project that a sister in our ward put on. We basically just picked up loads of rubbish on this huge marsh area in Kidwelli. Elder Seacy and I spent most of the time trying to get an enormous tire out of the mud, only to be told that we had to leave it because it was too big. I then tried jumping from one side of the mud pit to the other using the tire as my bridge, but I completely slipped and fell straight into the mud. everyone was laughing hysterically…I was happy to provide some entertainment for the community.

We had another interesting experience this week. on Friday, we were teaching two 18 year old girls in a local café, and halfway through the lesson, one of the girls’ boyfriend showed up outside, and she went outside to smoke a cigarette with him. He is 35, and has a 10 year old child. I could only think how blessed I have been to have been raised with the gospel in my life, with the standards that I have always had, to prevent me from certain situations that I would never want to get myself into. The girls will have to make a lot of changes in their life if they are to be baptized, but with enough faith, anything is possible!

Yesterday we had the privilege of going to dinner at the Allens, my favourite members in Llanelli. They have been so good to us, and have fed us almost every other Sunday. One of my favourite parts of my mission is all of the people that I have met, and for the relationships that I will take with me for the rest of my life. I am so grateful for my mission experience so far. I have been so blessed, and every little challenge is so worth all of the huge amazing experiences and lessons that I have had. I have grown so much in the past 8 and a half months. I have learned more than I ever have in such a short amount of time, and I know without a shadow of a doubt that there is absolutely no better place that I could be and no better thing that I could be doing at this time in my life. My mission has made me a better everything. I love this gospel so much. I love our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ, whose name we wear, and whose message we share. I love you all, and thank you so much for your continuous love and support. have an excellent week!

Love, Elder DeBeikes

so this is me after falling in the mud, this is elder paton, who I was in the mtc with. we have served really close since the start of our missions. he is from Australia and is one of my best friends on the mission. and the last one is me with the allens. they are the best

Elder DeBeikes Mud photo 4-12-14

Elder DeBeikes & Elder Paton (MTC companion) 4-14-14

Elder DeBeikes with The Allen Family Llanelli 4-14-14

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

