New Companion! (Week 15)

From: Nathan DeBeikes <nathan.debeikes@myldsmail.net>
Date: Mon, Nov 4, 2013 at 6:33 AM
Subject: New Companion!

​ ​So this week was very very excellent. My new companion is Elder Harris, from Orem, Utah. He is a few weeks younger than me, but has been out for seven months. he is awesome. he is really in to sports and we have a lot of similar interests and opinions about a lot of things. we have been having a really good time together, and also quite a bit of success so far. we found 12 potentials one of our very first days together, which is the most I have had so far on the mission, and we have a bunch of return appointments this week, so I am very excited. every week seems to go by more quickly than the last, it is really crazy. I feel really good about these next six weeks with Elder Harris, I feel like we are going to have a lot of success together. Elder Hess said that when we were together it was the hardest he had worked on his mission so far, but it was the least successful he had been, which was interesting. I am not sure what it is, but I think good things are awaiting my future. I love being a missionary. the past few weeks have been very challenging with not much success, and we have basically been finding all day every single day, and sometimes I honestly feel like we won’t get anywhere. but like always, as I turn to the Lord and pray for the spirit, I feel its influence in my life and feel the guidance and comfort that it gives me. as I try to recognize God’s hand in each day of my life, I start to realize that He literally is involved in every second of our lives. even the little tiny things. and as I realize that, it makes everything so much better and so much more meaningful, to know that I constantly have someone watching over me who loves me and cares about me and my happiness. That is why I am here. I want as many people as possible to feel that, and to be as happy as I am because of that knowledge. a mission is such an amazing opportunity. every challenge and difficulty is so worth it. and every disappointment is worth even the tiniest bit of success that can just make my day. I love the gospel with all my heart. it is the only way to true and eternal happiness. I know there are so many different things that can make us happy. but without the gospel, none of it would mean nearly as much to me. I love telling people about joseph smith, and everytime I testify of the truthfulness of his story, the spirit is so strong. I am so grateful for the amazing man that he was, and all of the things that he sacrificed to restore the amazing gospel that we have now. I love all of you, thank you so much for all of your love and support. have a great week!
Love, Elder DeBeikes
Elder DeBeikes and companions carving pumpkins
Elder DeBeikes carving pumpkin1 10-30-13
Elder DeBeikes carving pumpkin3 10-30-13 Elder DeBeikes carving pumpkin2 10-30-13

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

